Author Windscreen  (Read 5038 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Crossrunner
    • City / Town: NEWCASTLE UPON T
    • Country: United kingdom
    Windscreen
    on: July 20, 2017, 07:04:56 am
    July 20, 2017, 07:04:56 am
    Hi , does anybody know if the 2017 adjustable windscreen will fit the 2016 model ?
    If so it would be a great mod (depends on the price of course)

    Thanks  Robert

  • Offline Notgotone

    • Ex Member
    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    166
    • *
      #1

    Offline Notgotone

    • Ex Member
    • Crossrunner Pro
    • *
    • Posts: 166
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 09:13:29 am
    July 20, 2017, 09:13:29 am
    Hi Robert I don't think any one has tried to do it yet, the screen mounting bracket is part of the support frame for the clocks etc the standard one is over £250 and the standard screen £153 where do Honda get their prices from? unless the adjustable part bolts onto the standard bracket I suspect that many here including myself have gone the Powerbronze  Palmer bracket route plus a different screen.

  • Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Crossrunner
    • City / Town: NEWCASTLE UPON T
    • Country: United kingdom
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #2 on: July 20, 2017, 09:23:14 am
    July 20, 2017, 09:23:14 am
    Yeah thought the prices would be high .Have you got the Powerbronze adjustable screen ? If you have how do you rate it ?
    Not sure about what you mean about the Palmer brackets I thought the Powerbronze came with the brackets and you could either use your existing screen or by a different  one .
    I have tried the Palmer website, but it dos'nt let you access the products ! Very annoying .

    Thanks for your advice .

    Robert

  • Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Crossrunner
    • City / Town: NEWCASTLE UPON T
    • Country: United kingdom
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #3 on: July 20, 2017, 05:41:42 pm
    July 20, 2017, 05:41:42 pm
    Managed to get into the Palmer website .
    Firstly are the Palmer and Powerbronze adjustor the same , the pictures seem to have the Powerbronze adjustors closer to the bike .Which looks better l think .
    Finally l like the idea of the bar which l
    Can fit my Tomtom Rider 410 on . There is not one on the Powerbronze website .
    Finally is the screen secure with all the weight of the adjustor and Tomtom Rider?

    Robert

  • Offline K-Mac

    • Crossrunner Member  ‐    77
    • **
      #4

    Offline K-Mac

    • Crossrunner Member
    • **
    • Posts: 77
    • Bike: 2015 Crossrunner
    • City / Town: Auchterarder
    • Country: Scotland
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 07:45:00 pm
    July 20, 2017, 07:45:00 pm
    Hi Robert,
    I have the standard Honda screen with Palmer adjusters fitted. It is rock solid,even at speeds of over 1*O mph.   :001: :001:

    Kenny.
    2015 Crossrunner,  1976 CB 400/4, 1969 S90.

  • Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Crossrunner
    • City / Town: NEWCASTLE UPON T
    • Country: United kingdom
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #5 on: July 20, 2017, 09:22:00 pm
    July 20, 2017, 09:22:00 pm
    That's great mate thanks. Have you tried to Sat Nav bar which fits across.

    Thanks Robert

  • Offline K-Mac

    • Crossrunner Member  ‐    77
    • **
      #6

    Offline K-Mac

    • Crossrunner Member
    • **
    • Posts: 77
    • Bike: 2015 Crossrunner
    • City / Town: Auchterarder
    • Country: Scotland
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #6 on: July 20, 2017, 09:33:28 pm
    July 20, 2017, 09:33:28 pm
    I dont have the sat. nav. bar fitted, so cant comment. I just use original mount for sat. nav.

    Kenny.
    2015 Crossrunner,  1976 CB 400/4, 1969 S90.

  • Offline Notgotone

    • Ex Member
    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    166
    • *
      #7

    Offline Notgotone

    • Ex Member
    • Crossrunner Pro
    • *
    • Posts: 166
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #7 on: July 21, 2017, 06:43:54 am
    July 21, 2017, 06:43:54 am
    Palmer brackets have four knobs that need to be loosened to adjust and are much lighter than the Powerbronze I had them on my last bike no problems, Powerbronze uses camlock levers to adjust nice little video on the web site showing how it works, this is the one I have along with the Motech GPS mount, I have also done away with the well nuts and replaced them with new bolts, washers and nylock nuts IMHO with the addition of a bigger screen and the brackets this was needed to stop it all flying off down the road. 

  • Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #8

    Offline charlie

    • Crossrunner Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Crossrunner
    • City / Town: NEWCASTLE UPON T
    • Country: United kingdom
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #8 on: July 21, 2017, 11:10:05 am
    July 21, 2017, 11:10:05 am
    I have ordered the Palmer brackets , going to wait before l order the Sat Nav bar .
    Is it possible to get a smaller mount for the Tomtom 410 ..does'nt seem possible for that to fit above the instruments
    P/S..the Palmer website must be the worst ever to use..


    Robert

  • Online Skids   gb

    • Crossrunner Master  ‐    1663
    • ****
      #9

    Online Skids

    • Crossrunner Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1663
    • Bike: 2018 800X
    • City / Town: Hitchin
    • Country: gb
    Re: Windscreen
    Reply #9 on: July 21, 2017, 12:48:36 pm
    July 21, 2017, 12:48:36 pm
    Have you considered fitting the Sat Nav to the left of the brake MC on the bars? It's where mine is fitted (photo in another thread). It doesn't obstruct the instrument panel and is close enough to read and touch with ease. I wouldn't want to have a GPS above the instrument panel as it blocks my view forward (but that's just my opinion).  :031:

    I can get a photo taken from the seat of it with the bars straight if you want.

    Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 12:50:32 pm by Skids
    98 VFR800 - 130,000 miles, 08 VFR800 - 76,000 miles, 15 VFR800X - 44,000 miles (all sold)
    14 VFR1200 - 20,000 miles
    18 VFR800X - 16,000 miles
    01 VFR800 Fi-1 - 9000 miles

     



    recent