Author Trying Again To Fall In Love On The Isle Of Wight  (Read 986 times)

• Offline BarneyS

• Crossrunner Member  ‐    26
    • Topic Author

Offline BarneyS

• Crossrunner Member
    • Topic Author
    • Bike: VT700R
    • City / Town: Cowes
    Trying Again To Fall In Love On The Isle Of Wight
    on: May 25, 2020, 04:50:48 pm
    May 25, 2020, 04:50:48 pm
    Well, it has been a funny few months, about 4 and a half of them actually....

I work as a marine surveyor up and down the south coast of the UK and have been doing so for a couple of years on an pretty long in the tooth Deauville. As the Deaville hit 60,000 miles my mind turned to a suitable replacement, one I hoped that would look after all my transport needs and maybe give a few  more thrills than the NT700V, though, to be honest, it did everything I wanted and never ever let me down.

My research lead me to the Crossrunner (I would have rather stayed with a shaft but it is not to be in a middleweight these days, tried a BMW belt but didn't like the bike) and the Crossrunner lead me here.

After a few months and then letting Christmas get out of the way I went ahead and purchased from a forum member.

It felt like I was jinxed from the start, I caught the train up to London to buy it and walked straight in to a 4 hour delay with a derailment at Eastleigh, I then left my jacket on the train on(never been seen again), after that things went down hill.

I bought, despite a few misgivings as it was red, shiny and I wanted it. A little over priced for a private sale and never garaged but, well, did I mention, I wanted it.

Once home (via a bike shop for new gear, cue another £500 spend) the problems started. I knew the bike had had a battery eating habit but understood that they had been sorted  by the previous owners mechanic and local Honda dealer, they hadn't and despite a new battery and working fine once started the bike would not stand for more than 48 hours without flattening a (new) battery.